Asbestos in government buildings and on government land

The Northern Territory (NT) Government is committed to protecting the health and wellbeing of workers, contractors and the community by ensuring asbestos is safely and appropriately managed.

Asbestos management plans and asbestos registers have been prepared for buildings used by the NT Government that were constructed before 31 December 2003.

As the primary deliverer of the NT Government infrastructure, the Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics (DIPL) takes a lead role in the management of asbestos.

Asbestos registers

An asbestos register is a document that lists all identified and/or assumed asbestos in a workplace.

The main purpose of an asbestos register is to ensure workers and others accessing the site are informed and aware of asbestos in the workplace. Therefore, they do not accidently disturb asbestos.

The registers for NT Government assets (excluding Housing) are on the Asbestos Register Search (Octfolio) website.

Properties leased by the NT Government have been assessed for asbestos-containing material using guidelines under Work Health and Safety (National Uniform Legislation) Act 2011.

For information about leased NT Government properties that may contain asbestos, go to the Department of Corporate and Digital Development website.

Contractors engaged to conduct work at these locations are required to refer to the asbestos registers and asbestos management plans before commencing work.

Asbestos management policy for government assets

The NT Government is committed to the management and control of asbestos-containing materials (ACM) in government controlled buildings and contaminated land to protect the health, safety and well-being of workers, contractors and the community.

The NT Government’s long term objective is for all government controlled buildings and land to be free of ACM, until then the ACM in the government controlled asset is safe and managed appropriately.

Read the asbestos management policy and strategy for the NT Government PDF (876.2 KB).

NT Government Inter-Agency Working Group

The Inter-Agency Asbestos Management Working Group was established by the NT Government.

Its goal is to progress a collaborative, whole-of-government approach to improve asbestos awareness, management of NT Government assets, provide advice and recommendations to the NT Government on asbestos management.

Read more about the NT Government Inter-Agency Working Group on the Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics website.